top of page

Sand in Her Toes- Destin Beach Photographer

Luckily the weather in Northwest Florida has been more like fall than winter lately, although temperatures seem to be dropping now that we're in February. It's been months since we've been to the beach just to smell the salt water, feel the sand between our toes, and admire the beauty...so I packed up my youngest and we went for it.

You just don't know how things are going to turn out when you surprise a 1 1/2 year old by placing them in sand. The tears came. My precious little baby, tears streaming, hands in the air wanting mommy...she did not like this. So of course I picked her up and dusted the grains of sand from her feet and it took a good 10 minutes before I could encourage her to accept what was happening.

After overcoming her initial fear she let loose and ran up and down the beach, over sand dunes, and even ended up with a sand covered face. She was having the time of her life.

Watching her frolic and take on this new adventure after the rough start we'd had, it spoke to with me. We as adults can learn so much from children, things we really already know but don't apply to our lives. Life often presents us with situations that frighten us, stress us out, worry us...be more child like, adapt & overcome. I know that is so much easier said than done and I struggle with this at times too, but next time I will try to remember my little one and how she made the most of the situation. A situation that to others may have seemed small and/or meaningless, but to her it was much more.

Pretty certain this face shows exactly how much fun she was truly having.

Priceless.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page